I keep getting these SPAM Sprint text messages telling me to go to http://gospv.com etc. Does anyone know how to stop it?
I've tried searching. I've tried contacting support. No one seems to know how to stop it?
I'm seriously starting to loose my patience with this.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Thanks for the response.
You mean I can block all text messages? Well, this is not what I want to do since I use text messaging and it would be kinda pointless to block a feature that I'm paying for and want to use.
Or do you mean block specific text messages? Well, the problem seems to be that these messages come from different numbers all the time. IE: 1111, 9099, etc...
Either way, looking through the Sprint website I see no place to create white or black list for text messaging. Got a link?
As for the server having nothing to do with Sprint either someone registered it fraudulently, you're mistaken or I don't know what I'm talking about.
http://samspade.org/whois/gospv.com
Registrant:
Sprint Communications Company L.P. (DOM-1477784)
MAILSTOP: KSOPHT0101-Z3380 6391 Sprint Parkway
Overland Park KS 66251-3380
US
Domain Name: gospv.com
Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com
Administrative Contact:
Domain Administrator (NIC-1533363) Sprint Communications Company L.P.
MAILSTOP: KSOPHT0101-Z3380 6391 Sprint Parkway
Overland Park KS 66251-3380
US
domain.names@sprint.com
1.8665052385
Fax- 1.8773880408
Technical Contact Zone Contact:
Domain Administrator (NIC-1533363) Sprint Communications Company L.P.
MAILSTOP: KSOPHT0101-Z3380 6391 Sprint Parkway
Overland Park KS 66251-3380
US
domain.names@sprint.com
1.8665052385
Fax- 1.8773880408
Created on..............: 2005-Oct-10.
Expires on..............: 2009-Oct-10.
Record last updated on..: 2006-Dec-30 01: 00: 53.
Domain servers in listed order:
RESTON-NS1.TELEMAIL.NET
RESTON-NS2.TELEMAIL.NET
RESTON-NS3.TELEMAIL.NET
I have no third-party application installed except for gmail, gmaps and opera installed. I've been getting this spam even before I had a phone that could have applications.
Let me also add that I've been a Sprint customer for almost a decade and been pretty pleased with the service. I've recently heard that Sprint has had to deal with a lot of image problems ranging from customer service to actual phone service. I'm pretty sure that image is a focal issue at Sprint at the moment since their user-base is falling. The last thing that Sprint needs now is having a bad reputation about SPAM, especially if the SPAM is coming from Sprint.
This is just my own opinion as a "satisfied customer". Do a search on google for "gospv.com" and you'll see that there are plenty of people out there that are ticked off or just confused with this "marketing technique".
Let me also say that this kind of behavior and confusing could be quite dangerous. We know that the effects that Phishing has had in the email world. This kind of marketing is blurring the line between what "acceptable" soliciting and potentially a scam. This would especially embarrassing and risking for Sprint since it's essentially a closed network unlike the world wide web.
If any one at Sprint is listening, I would suggest that you elevate this issue for the sake of the company.
Thanks again, a "satisfied Sprint customer".
Well, there was also a query string in the url of the text message and I obviously didn't want to include that in my post. That's probably why you only see a CentOS or Apache landing web page. The query string is composed of my phone number and a couple of other parameters. When I click on the page it loads up some sprint nonsense with none of the images loading.
First of all, this is pretty unprofessional looking. How hard is it to check image tags in your markup?
Second of all this again brings me back to the issue of phishing. No one at Sprint seems to believe that this is a Sprint web site or a Sprint spam. If this is a phishing site and my phone number is included in the query string and I load the phishing site, suddenly the spammer knows that this is a phone they can spam to. So, even though I'm still not completely convinced that this isn't a Sprint website, I have to wonder if because I clicked on the link the first time, am I now on some spammer's spam list, and this is the reason that I've been spammed regularly since? Again, a dangerous type of behavior that could encourage customers not to worry about.
Again, as I mentioned in my previous message, every time I get one of these spam text messages, it comes from a different number. IE: 0100, 9909, etc... I really don't want to have to enter every combination of a 4 digit number into the block list. Not to mention the fact that other text services that I do want to receive messages from sometimes uses this number convention. IE: google text messages from their 411 service, calendar service, etc...
Thanks for your help anyway.
Centinall,
First, thank you for giving us a heads up on this. I have contacted the group that manages our domains and they are investigating this right now.
I wish I had a better explanation, I did gooooogle gospv.com as you recommended. There are a bunch of threads on this for sure. Here is one I found from Sprintusers.com:
http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-103434.html
We are using it to investigate what in the heck is going with this...
Once we get to the source of this it is our intent to bring the spam to an immediate end.
Thanks again for all your help and your patience. I apologize for the inconvenience but we REALLY appreciate you speaking up!
Cheers,
Tony
Just an update...
This issue has been passed along to our corporate security team for investigation. I will post an update when I get it.
Cheers,
n2suntzu,
Thank you so much for following up on this. Looking forward to this being resolved and continuing to be a loyal and happy Sprint customer.
Thanks again.
Cent,
Thanks for checking back. Our friends in corporate security sent a message back, stating they have contacted a specific group, but are awaiting a response.
I will stay on this until we find an answer. Thanks again for the patience.
Cheers,
Tony
Another Update...
Appears this is a result of an existing marketing plan. The details are few at this point, however, we did find out that customers can use the following to opt out of these messages:
http://sprint.enpocket.com/optout
Try this for now while we continue on.
Cheers,
Tony
Brian,
the following are the only 2 messages that I still have on my phone. I've blanked out my phone number with "*********" for obvious reasons. These messages seem to be of a new format with the "SprintFeeMsg" as you have described. Previously, this was not in the message. However, as you can imagine, any spammer could simply included the "SprintFreeMsg" text in their spam. Also, the messages didn't always come from 1111.<br><br>The most frustrating part however is trying to get answers as to whether or not this is from Sprint and if so how to stop receiving it. The only lead I've gotten is from Tony Fortner. He has been extremely helpful (see thread) and even given me what I think I was looking for all along: <a target="_blank" href="http://sprint.enpocket.com/optout/">http://sprint.enpocket.com/optout/</a><br><br>Thanks for your help. I will also email you with my phone number to help you track this more easily.<br><br>"SprintFreeMsg: Can't wait for March? Get your college basketball fix now with CBS Sports Mobile! Click <a target="_blank" href="http://gospv.com/o22?m=">http://gospv.com/o22?m=</a>********* Reply S to end mgs" FROM 1111
"SprintFreeMsg: In love? Out of love? Looking for love? Get FREE music for your mood! Click <a target="_blank" href="http://gospv.com?m=">http://gospv.com?m=</a>********** Reply S to end msgs" FROM 1111
A quick follow up,
After entering my number into the form at http://sprint.enpocket.com/optout I received what I guess are the confirmation text messages informing me that I've been opted out of the text message program. Here they are:
"You've been opted out of this program." from 4347
"Sprint PCS Vision: This confirms your opt-out. You will no longer receive free text tips from Sprint. Reply YES to be opted back in." from 468-767
Thanks again.
Actually to block the domains, 10-19 digit number of 4-8 digit short codes you will need to visit your My Sprint Area > My Online Tools > Communication Tools > Block Text Messages. May also be found in Digital Lounge > Messaging > Block Messages
I didn't know to change phone numbers so that I could block domains and short codes from my line on our family plan. There is a Sign off link under the chosen phone line but no option to choose another phone line to block domains. Looks like my line still isn't protected from spammers, just the main line.
Still paying for unwanted TXT messages,
MotoGenius
Sign up to connect with other people talking about the latest in wireless technology.
©2010 Sprint. All rights reserved.
|
|
||
