This discussion is archived
1 2 3 5 Previous Next 64 Replies Latest reply: Oct 6, 2010 1:36 PM by allreeeds RSS

4G not connecting?

Aralus Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

I am new to Sprint and had a question about my HTC Evo. I am located in Hawaii where there is 4G coverage and when I turn on 4G to connect, it just scans and does not connect. I left it on for half the day and it still did not connect. Do I possibly have a defective phone? I have rebooted the phone several times with no success.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

James

• 1. Re: 4G not connecting?
    prjkthack Newbie

I am also located in Hawaii and have noticed this issue as well. 4G was working just fine a couple of days ago, now all it does is:

- "Scanning..."

- "Connecting to Sprint..."

- "Scanning..."

- "Connecting to Sprint..."

Over and over again. Sometimes "Disconnected" will appear after the connecting part, but usually its the same pattern.

Maybe some kind of temporary downtime? Or wimax issue here in Hawaii?

• 2. Re: 4G not connecting?
    EVOill Valued Member

I can not help you here, i had similar behavior but that  resolved by itself. I associate this with the fact that 4G in my city is probably not yet fully operational.

How long your battery lasts in 4G ? Can you do the experiment for me? Can you switch all apps off say with Advanced Task Killer or Advanced Task Cleaner, or SystemPanel, whatever you have, stop activity in background and leave EVO with 4G ON for several hours just observing sometimes battery info. The question is how quickly discharges your battery ?  More precise % of running battery you can get when you say by voice "Open Battery Info" or in different Task Managers and killers.