This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: May 20, 2013 3:41 PM by MUSICMAN247 RSS

Windows 8 [wp8]

couponkate Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

This is very frustrating. I have a Motorola Q9c that I got when Sprint first deployed them... that's like coming up on six years. I thought it was on its last legs last summer and was so excited to wait "just" until fall for a new Windows 8 device. Even employees at two different Sprint stores told me that they were going to be coming out in/by October of last year. Well, that didn't happen and thankfully my Q9c recovered from its cold.  Now here I am, needing a quicker device as the Q9c is more sluggish than before, and no one at Sprint can offer any speck of insight on when and what will be coming.

Today, I have started to look at other options out there.  I'm new to this, so I'm asking some insight: what carriers should I look into?  Are you looking into any carriers?  Have you already jump-ship or have you set a date to jump-ship by?  ...What exactly does "Summer" mean?  Which month do you think?

::Wishing for a Nokia Lumia phone offered by Sprint::

• 1. Re: Windows 8 [wp8]
    DamianDevera Newbie

Well, from the research I've done over the past 3 months, "Summer" is vaguely May-June. They have been identified as likely being the Samsung ATIV S and the HTC "Tiara" (This being just a code name for the real phone). They have promised these two phones by the end of June, so that is my cut of wait before I switch to AT&T so I can also get the Nokia Lumia!

With all the wait, I'm honestly guessing late June, last minute as always for Sprint.

• 2. Re: Windows 8 [wp8]
    DP667 Regular Visitor

You might as well bail now Kate. You know that Sprint isn't going to offer a nokia phone and the samsung and HTC phone they are going to offer are going to be half-assed and unsupported after 6 months.

• 3. Re: Windows 8 [wp8]
    MarcP90 Newbie