This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 5, 2010 10:35 PM by superlinkx RSS

What Apps/Processes to Kill??

Regular Visitor
Currently Being Moderated

I am fairly new to the Android system and I was wondering if anyone could list the processes that should never be killed on the Hero.  It seems like I have quite a bit running but I am to nervous to start just killing apps and processes if I am not sure what they are contected to.  For Instance a few of mine:

HTCIQAgent (not sure what that is)

Sprint Updater (will that get screwed up if killed)

com.smithmicro.DM (something with SD card but don't know)

Touch Input (will I not be able to use the screen if killed?)

IQRD (no idea)

Clock

Gmail

voice dialer (by the way I have never used that so not sure why it is open to begin with)

Android System (seems intuitive to leave that alone)

Dialer

Mail

Handcent SMS

HTC Sense

OMADM

There are a few more but I think you get the point.  Those are the ones under Apps, now if I look at processes there are about 3 times as many but I can not realy figure out what many of them even are so I don't want to even mess with it.

I only ask because it seems that if you are new to Android it would be prudent to figure out how to properly kill apps/processes in order to keep your phone running smooth.  If I am completely wrong please correct me.

If anyone could help I would appreciate it, or if anyone has any links so I can research this further I can do that also, as opposed to listing every app that should or should not be killed.

Thanks

• 1. Re: What Apps/Processes to Kill??
    Valued Member

I'd personally wouldnt kill anything that runs on a fresh reboot of the system. Use the task killer for market applications only.

• 2. Re: What Apps/Processes to Kill??

You definitely don't want to disable com.smithmicro.dm

That is the over the air updating module. (firmware updating)

INsure

• 3. Re: What Apps/Processes to Kill??