This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply: Dec 23, 2011 12:44 PM by wingland RSS

Sprint's Network Vision vs Verizon's LTE?

ab25 Valued Member
Currently Being Moderated

What will the differences be between Sprints Network Vision and Verizon's Lte? I'm not very tech savvy so laymen's terms would be great. I'm contemplating whether or not its worth waiting around for Sprint to get this vision plan up and running or switch to Verizon now because they have 4g lte in my area. I'm not concerned about data caps so Sprint being unlimited is irrelevant. Thanks

• 1. Sprint's Network Vision vs Verizon's LTE?
    Expert

But Sprint is unlimited....lol.  I swear thats all I hear.  I cant really answer this question as I have no clue either.  I will be curious to see the answers.

I am confused about the Sprint network vision anyways.  Does this network vision require their 4G service for it?  Sprints 4G service comes from Clearwire correct?  Isnt clearwire going bankrupt?  Does the network vision not use Clearwire at all?

I have read different articles.  Some saying Sprint will need the clearwire network and others saying Sprint plans on not using their services anymore.  I dont remember reading anything from Sprint directly yet about the plans, how this will take place, when it will, and how it will effect me.

Last article I read was a from 2010 and said the network vision upgrades will start in 2011.  I wasnt aware Sprint had even started this yet so i would assume they are behind schedule.  It said it was also projected to take 3 to 5 years to complete. 

But then I read other stuff saying it will be done in 2012 and Sprint will start selling the LTE phones in summer 2012.  SO I have no clue.

If me I would go to Verizon since they already have it in your area and then give Sprint a look in 2 years.  Especially since the wonderful unlimited data isnt an issue with you and I believe Verizon is still ofering double the data right now.