cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best product to use to clean the screen on your phone?

Highlighted
Patron

What is the best product to use to clean the screen on your phone?

Screen gets greassy a lot. It is the first time I use a touch screen...What is the best product to clean it? is there a sprint store online or locally where I can buy clear film protection sheets? Thank you in advance for your answers!

9 REPLIES 9
Journeyman

Re: What is the best product to use to clean the screen on your phone?

Short answer: glass plus.

Long answer:

Probably the most important thing is do not use anything with ammonia in it, like windex.  Ammonia can destroy the glass coatings and make them foggy. I have been using glass plus as a screen cleaner for more than 10 years without a single bad incident.  Plain old water will work, too.

Whatever you use, don't let it get inside the phone.

Here's how I do it:

Lay the phone flat, screen up. Cover the speaker and buttons with cloth (I use my wiping cloth over speaker and hand over buttons).  I put my glass plus in an old hair spray bottle (emptied and washed out really well, then filled with glass plus) that makes a real fine mist.  I've had it for as long as I can remember - don't even know if they sell this stuff anymore, but the bottle is perfect for this.  It's called White rain non-aerosol hair spray.  Laying it flat and spraying a fine mist assures it won't flow down into the cracks on the side.  However you do, that is important: keep the cleaner out of the phone!  Then wipe with a circular motion.  I use a 3M microfiber cloth, same as I use for my camera lenses.  I've cleaned it dozens of times and there is only one tiny scratch and you have to look real hard to find that. I don't know whether that came from cleaning (probably not) or rubbing against something.

I just timed myself - took 11 seconds to clean the screen and it looks good as new.