cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iPhone 5 data fix

Highlighted
Journeyman

iPhone 5 data fix

Hey everyone this is Jody Smith. I have many years of experience in network trouble shooting.

The problem is an easy fix. Turn off your iPhone 5. Hold down the home button while plugging it into your computer. You should see the iPhone display iTunes. Look or download ipsw ios6 or click restore. Once you have completed these steps instead of connecting to wifi click connect to iTunes. Do not go on wifi until your phone activates. Restart the phone after activating and you will have data. Any questions please contact me. Thank you

Tags (2)
6 REPLIES 6
Wizard

Re: iPhone 5 data fix

Smithandweasson0,

Thank you for posting this.  I'm glad you were able to get your issue resolved.  This was actually reported as a known issue this past weekend.  For those who a restore process is not able to resolve their issue, I would recommend performing the below steps. 

The resolution is very similar to the steps that have already been followed with one important exception.  Note, before performing the below steps, please ensure that your information is backed up via iTunes or iCloud to ensure the protection of your content. 

Please follow the below steps:

1. Select Settings>General>Reset>Erase all Content and Settings 
  2. Once the phone reboots before you walk through activation, power the phone off for 30 minutes 
  3. After 30 minutes, power the device up and walk through standard activation process 
  4. If given the voice between carriers, be sure to select Sprint as your option

Sincerely

Fergie_B

Sprint Technical Support

Community Hours: 9am-2pm CST Sunday-Wednesday

Journeyman

Jody thanks for posting this. I was about to return my phone before stumbling into this thread and so far it has worked.