Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

8330 TEP replaced by 8530, but not on Everything Data plan

Highlighted
Journeyman

8330 TEP replaced by 8530, but not on Everything Data plan

So I've got a unique question, I think

I currently have a Curve 8330 on a Free & Clear 1000 plan with a BlackBerry data pack.

I just had to file an insurance claim.

Asurion is replacing the 8330 with an 8530 because they no longer have 8330's in stock.

I believe the 8530 requires an Everything Data plan.

Given this 8530 is an insurance replacement for a device that's no longer available (8330), there should be no reason I shouldn't be able to remain on my current plan.  There's absolutely no way I'll be roped into spending more $ on a monthly basis because I had to use the TEP I've been paying $7/mo for, for 10+ years.

Any hints/tips on how I'll be able to get the device activated on my existing plan without having to make a large number of calls to Sprint to try to work this out?

9 REPLIES 9
Master

Re: 8330 TEP replaced by 8530, but not on Everything Data plan

The 8530 can be activated on the plan you have, It does not require an everything plan. The only phones requiring an everything plan is any of the Instincts, The HTC Hero or the Samsung Moment. When you recieve the new phone you can activate it online from your account page at http://www.sprint.com/activate/

Journeyman

its  fine  I  have a free and clear with a data pack for the blackberry and have an 8530   granted i have to  have mine  exchanged already but  hopefully  the  new one will be  good.

Master