cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switch To Unlocked Nexus 4

Highlighted
Journeyman

Switch To Unlocked Nexus 4

I was looking into the Nexus 4 by Google and I am thinking that the phone is more of what I need than my current iPhone 4S.  I was wondering if it was possible to buy the Nexus unlocked and swap out the SIM card in my iPhone.

I have never done it before, so I am not sure what happens to our current plan, etc.

16 REPLIES 16
Highlighted
Journeyman

Lynannkelly12480,

This is a great question! Thank you for reaching out to ask it. While Sprint carries the Samsung Nexus, the Nexus 4 is designed for a different type of network than ours. Furthermore, the SIM in your iPhone would not be compatible with the Nexus 4. I am truly sorry for this news.

What features of the Nexus 4 caught your eye? I would be more than happy to look into what would be comparable if you would like.

*Ben

Social Care

Highlighted
Journeyman

Thanks for the quick reply!

I was looking into the Nexus for 2 main reasons.  1st is that I use Google for much of my work and personal life (Gmail, Drive, Google+, etc.) so Android just seem to make sense.  2nd is because the Nexus has a pure Android experience without the carrier skins overlaid meaning quicker upgrades, etc.  That is huge for me and the fracturing of the Android experiences across manufacturers is one of the reasons I leaned toward the iPhone initially.

Could you give me a little more detail as to why the SIM in the iPhone wouldn't work and what in your network isn't compatible with the Nexus 4?

Thanks again!

Highlighted
Journeyman

Lynannkelly12480,

Always happy to help as efficiently as I can!

To answer your questions:

1) Why the SIM form the iPhone won't work with the Nexus 4?

The devices are made by two separate manufacturers and there for how the SIM talks to the phone, and the information it provides, is different.

2) Why is the Nexus 4 not compatible with our network?