Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email on HTC EVO LTE 4G

Go to solution
Highlighted
Journeyman

Email on HTC EVO LTE 4G

Hi all!  Hopefully everyone has received their phones by now! I am new to the Android market, having been a very loyal BlackBerry user for some time!  I have a question about the email system:

There are two different icons for email, one is gmail (has an envelope and a g) and the other is the normal phoen email icon.  I have my gmail account set up to be used as a backup, etc., but when I receive an email I get notifications on both icons.  I have tried to delete the gmail icon, but then the phone told me that I was not set up for backups, which I am assuming I do want this feature.

So, my question is, without having to go to both icons to delete emails, how can I get it set to come to only one, without deleting the backup system.  This sounds greek to me, so hopefully someone understands what I am asking and can help!

Thanks!

18 REPLIES 18
Wizard

Re: Email on HTC EVO LTE 4G

TATHIB,

Did you set up the gmail account under both icons?

Markie_B

Journeyman

Yes, well the CSR at Sprint did.  Said I needed the gmail icon one for backups, but the regular email icon one is what I need for my calendars, etc. to all be available.  I just went with it, but I am very weird about icons and don't like to have all the notifications on my phone, so of course I'm having to clear them both when I get an email.

Wizard

TATHIB,

It can be confusing at first. What calendars are you syncing, Google or other(s)?. You need only to set up your gmail once and it is designed to come in under gmail. If you set it up under both when your email comes in it will come in under both icons. Here are the instructions for deleting the account under your mail icon:

Delete an Email Account

Delete an email account from your phone if you want to discontinue using that account.

1. Touch Home > Applications > Mail