cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking about getting the EVO 4G

Highlighted
Journeyman

I am thinking of upgrading to the Evo 4G in a few months or so.  I like it because of the front facing camera which will come in handy for when my boyfriend travels so that we can video chat, but I just wanted to get some pros and cons from others who have the Evo 4G.  So if you could let me know, that would be awesome.  Thanks. 

13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted
Wizard

I've been using the Evo as my personal phone for about 5 months. (I've been providing tech support since it was launched) The pros far outweigh the cons. It has very good hardware, the camera works great and the graphics rendering on it's larger than life 4.3 inch screen is blazing fast. Obviously, your boyfriend will need a device that also supports video chat. The main con would have be battery life, which is a consequence of having such a large screen. Some people would say the lack of a physical keyboard is a con but that's more of a personal preference. The only prominent issues we see are ones caused by third party software that customers install. Just stay away from task killers/battery savers and security/anti-virus apps and you'll be unlikely to have many issues.

Highlighted
Journeyman

Thanks for the feedback.  I really appreciate it. 

Highlighted
Sprint Product Ambassador

For video chat, both of you will need to have a mobile device that supports Qik or Fring.  There isn't any phone to PC video chat software out right now for the Evo.

Both of you will need to be in a very good 3G coverage area, or on a 4G network, or on WiFi.  Video chat uses a *TON* of bandwidth, and the quality will suffer if you aren't in a very high speed network.

Battery is easily addressed with the Sprint Extended battery - I'm gettgin 14 to 20 hours with the extended battery on the Evo.