ForumTopicPage
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A curveball, phone dropped dead due to update.

Highlighted
Journeyman

A curveball, phone dropped dead due to update.

So last night I was on my hero from sprint looking around. I went to settings, phone info, then updates. I tapped the Firmware option and it began searching for a firmware update, and to my surprise it found one. Now I have never done this before so I figured it was so update that wasn't announced because it was minor. In any case it told me not to remove the battery, and me being clever decided to plug it into my surge-protected outlet block that I also use for my laptop, that way even though the phone was fully charged I would be safe while it updated the firmware.

So I pressed ok and the hero begins to update. First it downloads the firmware, finishes fine. Next the phone shuts off and turns on and the HTC logo is displayed with a little green status bar that is increasing as it progresses through the installation, ok good it is installing. Finally the phone has an issue.

Halfway through filling that green status bar the phone pauses for a minute at the same spot on it, then suddenly shuts off for no apparent reason. It does restart by itself, but this time a new logo is displayed, one where there is a software box with a green arrow coming up and out from it, bending over its edge, and pointing to what looks like a hero. This symbol is displayed for roughly 20 seconds, and finally the hero shuts off, but this time it doesnot turn on.