cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How is typing on the Hero? Performance?

Highlighted
Patron

How is typing on the Hero? Performance?

I upgraded to a blackberry 8530 because my 8330 worked very well for what I needed (messaging, light web use, GPS) almost 30 days ago, but I can't get the Hero out of my mind.  I got the 8530 for a ridiculously cheap price of 30 bucks due to a best buy error and money is definitely a concern, but I dream of the web experience on the Hero.  I have no experience with touch screens and despite it feeling cramped sometimes, I type very fast on the physical QWERTY keyboard of the blackberry and as a writer, I'm often writing notes on my blackberry so ease of typing is a must.  So for owners, I ask this...

How is typing on the Hero?  Do you really get used to it?

How's the response time?  I've read about lagging and realistically, the device seems to only have a little more memory than my curve and yet it's expected to do so much more.

Advice?

17 REPLIES 17
Highlighted
Journeyman

Re: How is typing on the Hero? Performance?

You need a lot of patience to type with a Hero.  It's very easy to hit "O" instead of "I", "M" instead of "N", and backspace instead of "M".  There's also some lagging, but it doesn't happen all the time.  An on-screen keyboard just doesn't feel like real keys.  That being said, I have been getting better in the 6 weeks I've had the Hero.  Of course, I'm really sold on the other features though ...

Highlighted
Patron

Thank you for your response!  I make typos on my blackberry, even after being a user for almost two years now, but I'm just used to it enough to correct myself just as quickly as I type.  Where do you notice the lagging the most?  Have you used sprint navigation on it?

Highlighted
Journeyman