cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ring "lag" as some mentioned

Journeyman

Ring "lag" as some mentioned

I'm a programmer of small sorts and I'm learning the Android API slowly. From what I gather, the OS is built on "intents" in which applications listen for events that might interest them. For example, new SMS messages are broadcasted from the Android/HTC OS and Handcent, ChompSMS, HTC Messages, etc have listeners in place to receive them... or from a sports perspective, the "baseball" is the intent and all the players with gloves are the possible "listeners"...

Anyhow, when the phone "rings", Android/HTC OS (firmware) broadcasts the "intent" of a new call coming in. I'm wondering if the possible "receivers" for the new call are on a "queue" and even though the OS is multi-processing, it may not be able to have 3-4 proccesses handle the same "intent" all at the same time.

1) Panel Lights Receiver - Receive call Intent - blink panel lights

2) Screen Panel Receiver - Receive call Intent  - turn screen on

3) Incoming caller Receiver - Receive call Intent  - Show new caller widget or whatever it is

4) Ringer Receiver - Receive call Intent  -Ring the default ring tone

I've noticed that something all these happen quickly, other times... the lights flash for a good second.. then the screen.. then the ringer...more slowly.

Anyhow, maybe a worthless thread I've started, but I know I've heard a few rants on how some people are griping on how the phone "lags" when new calls come it.

Message was edited by: kenyu73

56 REPLIES
Journeyman

Re: Ring "lag" as some mentioned