cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop using task killers. The End.

Journeyman

Stop using task killers. The End.

If you're having issues with your phone that you can't pinpoint, stop using task killers. Or at least stop using them until you're sure they're not the source of some of your problems. The only way you can verify this is by not installing them.

I've seen throughout these discussions where the two things in common with the people who can't seem to get something to work like the other 95% of people are 1) that they use a task killer (usually Advanced Task Killer) or 2) they don't hard reset their phone when advised.

I work in the technical support field and I know from experience that if someone doesn't think what you're asking them is related, they won't do it. Just try it folks.

I saw this video on android.com a while back http://www.android.com/videos/#video=appswithoutborders which is why apps shouldn't be randomly closed.

Message was edited by: capitalf

17 REPLIES 17
Highlighted
Wizard

Re: Stop using task killers. The End.

Yes, if not careful you can kill critical processes. I used the "kill all processes" once and I stopped receiving text messages until I restarted my phone. I use one now but am careful to only kill third party applications that I know aren't critical to the phone operation.

Highlighted
Wizard

definitely don't kill the clock application, then you won't get your alarm the next morning!  Very bad, very bad.  I have started to leave my phone alone more and let it decide what is best.  I only kill apps that pop up for no reason at all, like the Sprint Navigation, NFL mobile live, IM, etc.  I know I don't need those, so those get killed.  Otherwise, you can kill processes that make your phone function, like HTC sense.  You can also set an ignore list though, which is what I have done for those that I have identified as important.