cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi and misc

Highlighted
Journeyman

WiFi and misc

I cannot get my Hero to connect to my home WiFi. I found a post from anothe user describing how he changed his network from WPA-PSK (TKIP) & WPA2-PSK (AES) to stricktley WPA2-PSK (AES) and have changed mine as well. My Hero detects the network but no matter how many times I enter and renter the passphrase, it will not connect and reports the pasword is incorrect. As you can see, my typing is not that bad! I know it will connect to a friend of mines WEP network but it simply refuses to connect to mine, and I refuse to drop my security back down to WEP. I am using an older Netgear WPN824 router, but have had no problems connecting devices, in fact this post is from a laptop that I just put on the network after changing the security settings in the router.

I have also read alot about "Rooting" the device, but have not seen anything that tells how to root it. I'm new to these mobile devices but am by no means a slouch with a computer, but as with computers I did have to pick up a few tricks from others that are way more savvy than I am. If you know where to point me to learn how to do this it would be great. It sounds like there are proven upgrades that may solve my lag problems, and I'd love to give them a whirl after getting rid of the unecessary apps.

Thanks for the read and any help you may be able to give.

Ric

4 REPLIES 4
Journeyman

Re: WiFi and misc