cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

no 2.1 update till after EVO released!?

Journeyman

no 2.1 update till after EVO released!?

i was told today by tech support, that the 2.1 update for hero/moment will not be available until AFTER THE EVO IS RELEASED because it would take away from the excitement of the EVO....   

sprint really does care....... about new customers, not current ones!

78 REPLIES 78
Journeyman

Re: no 2.1 update till after EVO released!?

I think I have post around here somewhere that says that about a month ago.. maybe it was over at XDA.. can't remember.

But you're exactly right.

If they release the update before the Evo, it will hurt Evo sales..  Less people will desire a new device just because it has 2.1 on it. They'll already have one.

I work in Sales, the logic is sound.

Sprint however isn't in a financial position to make such a selfish move, but they'll do it out of greed. If they were number one then it would make sense.

Sprint has no concern for it's current customer base. They only make money off of NEW plans.

Journeyman

that would only work for new customers, or those at or close enough to do the upgrade, a lot of users aren't gonna wanna pay full price just to get the evo with 2.1

Journeyman

I don't know it seems Kind of Shady to me.. I do believe how ever that the release date of the 2.1 is scheduled for this month, and the EVO is scheduled to release next month. If this thread was true they would have to push 2.1 till next month and deal with all of the dropped contracts because of this move. I apologize for all the run on sentences.

Journeyman

I would like to apologize for my unnecessarily strong language.

Message was edited by: deinesh

Journeyman

Wasn't that strong of language.

Message was edited by: budgetboy1

Journeyman