cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm clueless. (Need help)

Highlighted
Journeyman

I'm clueless. (Need help)

Hi, I'm very new to mobile broadband and would like some help from someone, anyone.

It's very, very, very slow. I'm posting a screenshot of the application, if anyone has any pointers on how to fix it, please share.

Thanks! (It took 5 minutes just to upload this screenshot to Imageshack...)

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/5981/sprintsmartviewproblems.png

Message Edited by dvdlost on 03-13-2009 07:43 PM
PS: More examples of slow slow connection would be: Slow loading time for web sites, inability to play any games online, slow download speeds.
Message Edited by dvdlost on 03-13-2009 07:45 PM
Message Edited by dvdlost on 03-14-2009 03:02 AM

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Master

Re: I'm clueless. (Need help)

According to that you are well within good coverage and connected to an EvDO Rev. A tower on top of that. So your speeds should be good. The only thing I can think of is that maybe the tower is overloaded with people using it for voice/data and it is causing a slowdown, or that it is some configuration error on your computer itself. Unfortunately I don't have much advice really.

Only thing I can really recommend is doing a speedtest at either DSLReports.com or at Speedtest.net
. That way we can get a good number of what is "slow" that we can compare.

Highlighted
Master

According to that image it looks like you're getting 1096 kb/s download and 151 kb/s upload.

The EvDO Rev. A theoretical limits are 3.1 Mb/s down and 1.8 Mb/s up. More realistic real world speeds are around 1.5 Mb/s down and 500 kb/s up. Both of your rates are a little low but are well within regular parameters for a tower network, and quite a bit faster than a 56 kb/s dial-up modem. So according to the speed test your speeds are fairly normal, a bit low but not much to make a huge difference like you are explaining.