cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pixel 4 XL data issues

Journeyman

Pixel 4 XL data issues

I have Sprint looking into this, but I wanted to see if others are having any similar issues...

I just got my new pixel 4 xl last week from my preorder. Actually I have two because I did the promotion. I've noticed that the data connection is awful. I have been carrying my old note 5 around with me for reference. In many locations where the note 5 has a good LTE signal, the pixel 4 will either connect to LTE but get maybe 10% of the speed of the note 5, or the pixel will connect to 3g and operate at speeds that were appropriate a decade ago. I live in Lehigh valley PA and I work in the field covering a 7 county area. While Sprint unfortunately doesn't have the best network in this area, it worked (and works) ok on my old phone. So I'm not having a network problem per se, but a problem using this model of phone on this particular network. I've done all the usual troubleshooting and updates and brought it to a corporate store where a physical Sim was installed to ensure the esim wasn't the root cause. 

This has already been referred to advanced tech support and I'm awaiting word from the engineers. I'm just asking around to see if anyone has had issues like this. My second pixel which my son uses also has an inferior data connection, so I do not believe it to be a manufacturing defect unless I somehow got shipped two lemons, but there was no record of anyone else reporting this issue so I'm not sure if it's only affecting the network in my region or if the phone is just so new that no one reported the issue before me, or if this is some oddity that is only affecting me.

32 REPLIES 32
Journeyman

Re: Pixel 4 XL data issues

Follow up...

So they couldn't find anything. And I was told to exchange my phone (s) because maybe there was just a problem in the first batch of them.