cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mot I580 rebooting and display issue - very weird - I580 has mind of it's own

Journeyman

Mot I580 rebooting and display issue - very weird - I580 has mind of it's own

I have two Motorola I 580's.

One will only operate on the speaker phone. If I get a call, I have to use it in speaker phone mode. I keep it around as a spare for emergencies.

My pressing issue is on my other I580. It will just reboot for no reason. Sometimes, it will occur right after a call, sometimes it will just shut down, sometimes it will reboot and go to the prompt for the password (on the sim). I have not dropped it, it has not been wet, or otherwise abused. It seems to operate fine. I only have about half of my phone book filled. I don't use any of the features such as web, email etc.

It's very strange.

Could this be a software issue? Is it something I can address?

PS I am a computer professional so I am pretty technologicaly educated. If you have any suggestions, please pass them on.

Cheers,

Bristol

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Journeyman

Re: Mot I580 rebooting and display issue - very weird - I580 has mind of it's own

How old is the phone? And do you have insurance?

I can't give you any advice because I never had or heard of any trouble with the I580 before. And since the 580 hasn't had a Software update since the middle of 2007, I doubt its a software issue.

You might just have to get yourself one of those "cool" yellow 580's to replace it.

Von

Re: Mot I580 rebooting and display issue - very weird - I580 has mind of it's own

Actually, this "shutting down to reboot" thing has been an occasional problem with almost all of the Nextel iDEN phones that I know of. Not one single phone that I've had has ever been free of this problem; however, some iDEN phones are more prone to doing this than others.