cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Photon Q Experience

Wizard

My Photon Q Experience

As some of you folks know, I bought myself a Sprint Motorola Photon Q 4G LTE when it became available.

As I've done before, I'm going to just write about my experiences with this device as I learn about it.

(A little background would probably help: I'm a retired communication engineer who spent a quarter century working in the old Bell System, primarily at Pacific Northwest Bell and Bell Telephone Laboratories.)

PQ_02.jpg

For a good while now I've been hoping that my carrier-of-choice, Sprint, would offer a "Droid 4" equivalent device, because that smartphone had an ideal match of overall size, screen size, and physical keyboard for my needs. The physical keyboard, for me, is almost a necessity, as I do not get along well with touch-screen virtual keyboards since my stroke.

While at first glance the new Photon Q ("PQ") looks like a Droid 4 ("D4") clone, there are substantial differences in detail that make the PQ by far the better device.

When I stopped in to my local Sprint corporate store to look at the new PQ, I'd already done a lot of research into the technical details of PQ, and was already familiar with the D4.

I knew, for example, that neither had a user replaceable battery, and that neither the LTE nor the GSM SIMs in the PQ were user replaceable.

Even though there are a number of devices on the market today that  do not have user replaceable batteries, I still do not like that trend and would prefer either user replaceable or at least much larger capacity batteries in my devices.

In my first handling of the PQ at the store, it was almost immediately obvious that this was not just a clone of the D4, but a newer, better design. First thing I noticed is the PQ is noticeably faster than the D4 in just about everything it does, next was that it seemed to weigh a little less, and the screen was noticeably larger.