S8+ always roaming and LTE doesnt work

Go to solution
Highlighted
Journeyman

S8+ always roaming and LTE doesnt work

Hello. Here are the cross streets and town for reference:

Sheep Creek and Goss

Phelan, Ca.

We had a sprint store in our town for years. I got the s8+ last year and everywhere but my town I have service. I ran speed tests through speedtest.net LTE doesnt even register so speedtest cant test it. And the 3G I got 1mb down. (Even though www.google.com takes 2 minutes to load.) 

Even my slow wifi is faster than the sprint network.20180929_222227.jpg

Why would sprint have stores up here and have almost no service. I've tried updating PRL, my profile (which by the way will only update when I'm on wifi and not sprint network.)

My phone is completely up to date. Yet my wife's Galaxy Note 3 will have LTE while I'm roaming.

Anyway to fix this issue?

I used to be a truck driver, I've been all over the country. And besides, Montana, new Mexico and some of wisconsin. My home area has been the worse connection I've ever had.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

My apologies folks, I've been out of town for work and still trying to catch up.  Sprint devices may roam in areas they did not roam previously. This is by design and is a result of updated acquisition files being pushed to devices to prefer LTE roaming over Sprint 3G. Sprint does not charge customers for Domestic roaming voice, data or SMS usage. Please do not swap devices. 

In the past, the device was told to look for Sprint LTE first, then Sprint 3G.  Now, it's told to look for Sprint LTE first, then Roaming LTE, next Sprint 3G, and then finally 3G/2G roaming.  This is to keep the fast LTE data speeds before dropping to 3G or lower.  By default, devices are set to automatic, meaning it will attach to the strongest signal should it be ours or a competitor's.  If the constant "Roaming" sign on your screen is making you nervous, you can set your device from automatic to LTE/CDMA.