cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use while charging my Epic 4G

Highlighted
Journeyman

Use while charging my Epic 4G

OK so I am a total rookie when it comes to smart phones. So now that we know my skill level is.. Here is my questions for all you Phone Pros. When I have the phone plugged into the charger it basically disables the touch screen.. I can not use any of my apps, I can not even get past the unlock screen.. It does not matter if I am using the factory charger or my aftermarket charger. If I want to do ANYTHING including answer the phone, I have to unplug it answer and then once I have made the connection, I plug it back in and it goes right back to charging.

Is there some way to get around this? Or is this just one of the drawbacks of this phone?? Thanks in advance for your input..

Mgunslinger

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Wizard

I have mine plugged in right now and I'm able to turn on the screen and use the phone.  But, if the battery is completely dead, it won't let you use it until it's charged (or maybe until it's charged to a certain point?). 

Was your battery completely dead before you began charging your phone?

Highlighted
Journeyman

No the battery was not totally dead. I had just gotten the notice that the phone needed to go on the charger, and I am wondering if there is a setting that I am missing. I am just amazed that I cannot use my access all the features of my phone.. Thanks 

Highlighted
Journeyman

Are you using the factory charger?  I don't have that problem with the factory charger, but I have a couple of cheapo USB chargers, and they don't put out enough current (they were designed before this current generation of power hungry smartphones!).  When I use the cheapo charger, it does exactly what you describe.

You need a charger that supplies 7ma (.700a) minimum. Most of the cheaper ones only supply the older USB 2.0 standard .5a (500ma).

Highlighted
Journeyman