cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi Signal Strength not great around the house

Highlighted
Journeyman

WiFi Signal Strength not great around the house

I'm having a little bit of a different issue than the users who could not connect to their WiFi.  Mine connected just fine at home (haven't tried elsewhere but am traveling to Oregon tonight so i'll test out different place).  Problem is that I have to be standing right over my LinkSys router for it to have the full 3 bars.  If I'm just 10 feet away it's 2 bars, and if I'm in the back bedroom which is just down the hall (about 30 feet) it's only one bar.

I downloaded the WiFi Analyzer and sure enough the signal drops like crazy.

Can someone help me with this?  I'm not sure if it's the phone or my router.  I'd rather not have to replace the phone but if it's the phone I will do that.

Thanks in advanced, I'm a newbie Android user.

7 REPLIES 7
Journeyman

Re: WiFi Signal Strength not great around the house

The radios in this thing are atrocious. DLNA buffers for 5 minutes on a 40 second video, plays for 10 seconds and  buffers for another 5 minutes (using a 240x320 video). When I can find a video codec this phone supports, not easy.

This is on a wireless network which I stream HD video over without any problem. The phone is pretty much useless for anything except text messaging and phone calls. Qik doesn't work via EV-DO or WiFi.

I've been to the Sprint store twice trying to figure out what the hell is wrong with this thing, I'm returning it tomorrow. I'm very disappointed in this P.O.S.

If there are just a few programs running it slows to a crawl, then crashes. But I digress... Yes, the WiFi never gets over 2 bars when I'm in the same room with my router (which connects to all my other devices perfectly fine).

Message was edited by: edward11b

Journeyman