cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lollipop Update Destroyed the Galaxy Note 4

Highlighted
Wizard

Lollipop Update Destroyed the Galaxy Note 4

I've been reviewing Samsung Galaxy Note phones for many years. After allowing the Over The Air KitKat to Lollipop Update, many cherished qualities of my $800 Galaxy Note 4 "Smartphone" vanished.

I was left with a "stupid-phone" that:

1. The all day or better battery life went to 2/3rd's that quality.

2. The phone heats up, something that never ever happened before.

3. Delays in processing simple stuff.

4. The cherished GPS quality went to announcing "GPS SIGNAL LOST" every few minutes when traversing the same area as before. It is so bad that using Google maps to get somewhere is impossible, and you positioning overshoots your street turn.

This is not the worst of it... Samsung and Sprint play the "we have no reports of this issue" when anyone within their quality control team could (and does) Google "Lollipop update issues with Note 4"... And you know it's ludicrous to believe they are NOT monitoring public response to their product.

You are left with what was once a perfectly working Note 4, to that of an overheating, battery sucking, dysfunctional "dumb-phone" that loses GPS lock and also disconnects from Bluetooth repeatedly... during use.

Yes... They'll blame it on apps, tell you to reset your phone (easy, right? Like reinstalling Windows!), but in reality, you were perfectly fine with KitKat just the way everything was.

Anyone else experiencing this?

I'm getting tired of investing in Samsung and Sprint high end and expensive electronics... and trusting that they have actually well supervised any update they push out over the air, WITHOUT LETTING YOU REVERT BACK TO THE PROPERLY FUNCTIONING OPERATING SYSTEM.

Once you update to Lollipop, you threw your expensive functioning Galaxy Note 4 out the window.

Please post your own experiences, and non-rooted fixes that really worked.