cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bluetooth and voice commands question, please...

Highlighted
Journeyman

Bluetooth and voice commands question, please...

I'm a noob to Samsung and Note.  I was with HTC for years and recently (last week) my EVO went through a jellybean upgrade and it introduced a gazillion bugs (many of which were declared "features" lol).  Anyway, I had been eyeing the Note II for a bit and used this as an opportunity to jump ship and move to Samsung.  Overall, I love the phone...I have a few gripes here and there, but nothing too significant.

However, I have one BIG issue which I can't find the solution.............and surely there is one as it would be kinda nutty otherwise

I love bluetooth.  I use bluetooth in my motorcycle helmet all the time (though I've not yet tested with the Note) and I currently rock the Motorola S11-HD headphones for talk/music.  On my EVO and on past phones, I only had to hit one button on my bluetooth device to initiate a phone call.  I would hit the button, voice command would popup and say something (don't remember what) and I'd say "Call John Doe" and it'd make the call.  I have noticed that if I use screen lock on my Note (and for security, of course I'd use a screen lock), I can't initiate calls by bluetooth.  If I try, the digital lady tells me how many txt messages I have but won't let me speak back to make a call.  I'm not even sure why she tells me I have two txt messages since she won't let me access them with the screen locked anyway.