cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

samsung moment 2.1 upgrade

Highlighted
Journeyman

samsung moment 2.1 upgrade

I want to purchase the Moment but waiting for 2.1 upgrade. I spoke with 3 people today at Sprint in different locations...and they all told me the 2.1 upgrade is available now for the Moment. They told me if I buy the Moment...they can do the upgrade for me in the store. Has anyone else heard this?

Can anyone explain what will be the differences between Android 1.5 and 2.1? I'm new to the Android phones...I have a Touch Pro now. Thanks.

30 REPLIES 30
Highlighted
Journeyman

well either you missunderstood or they might just be really telling the truth. if the 2.1 upgrade is out it will be everywhere on the sites like phonedog. so i doubt that it is out.

Highlighted
Journeyman

ahhhhhhhhhhhh they are totally wrong! There is an update but it is a simple firmware update that helps battery life and gps as well as some apps run better. The Moment is a great phone but there is not any 2.1 updates as of yet. Even though Verizon and Tmobile both have droids running 2.0 Sprint again is behind the pack and playing catch up. If you want a moment, you may want to wait a few months until an actual upgrade comes out, who knows Sprint might even launch a new phone since they have not launched anything in months other than mifi or an Iden that no one buys anyway.

Highlighted
Journeyman

I'd really like to know what the rush is? Verizon has 2.0. However, they don't have 2.1 yet. I bought my phone 6 days ago and it still has Android 1.5 on it. In using the phone for 6 days, the Moment is a thousand times better than the Samsung Instinct. So there's not much that's really wrong with the phone. It's not like anything has been crippled by Sprint, unlike the way AT&T has crippled the Motorola Backflip.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/191036/motorola_backflip_on_atandt_not_the_full_android_experience.html