cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samsung Galaxy S8+ Location Timeout

Highlighted
Journeyman

Re: Samsung Galaxy S8+ Location Timeout

I have a Note 8 with the same issue. I have used Google Fu to search for an answer. Done all that they say to try. It all started after the Pie update.

Reset network

Update PRL

Update Profile

Hard boot

Soft boot

Quadrillion checked Location accuracy

Quadrillion times updated location with 911

Wiped Cache

Offered a sacrifice to the phone demon (it likes cupcakes, btw)

One issue is I have Voice Networks with LTE Calling (beta) and Wi-Fi Calling. I read an article here that said LTE Calling was being phased out by now. Following the instructions through Sprint site,  it tells me to tap "Calling Plus". I don't have that.

Journeyman

I was good for almost a week, then came home from work today and it's happened 6 times in 4.5 hours. 

Back when I was writing software for a living I had all kinds of tools to diagnose stuff like this. Wish I had a toolset for this so I could provide some useful information to help solve the problem.

Journeyman

Turning off VOLTE only worked for about 20 hours 😞

Hi Paul! Are you running the latest software update on that Galaxy S8? Your software version should be G950USQU5DSD3.

Yes, I am indeed.
Journeyman

@HELPeR_Sprint wrote:

Hi Paul! Are you running the latest software update on that Galaxy S8? Your software version should be G950USQU5DSD3.

Got the May 2019 update yesterday morning and still the same issue...  

Hopefully Sprint will work with Samsung to resolve this issue.  Don't believe there is anything on the Sprint side that can fix this issue - issue only started once I got the Android Pie update.  Before that not a single issue.

Journeyman

Same here. I was VERY optimistic that this error would be addressed in this update, so I turned WiFi Calling back on. Unfortunately, it didn't last long before it timed out again. Bummer!